Life Verses

For many years, I’ve heard people talking about “life verses”.  Never giving it much thought, I would just push it aside and think, “I don’t have any life verses.”  Boy, was I ever wrong!

Life verses, apparently, are those verses you have memorized in the past and refer back to them on a consistent basis.  Over many years, I realized that I have many verses I recall daily….when in joy, frustration, sadness, anxiousness, or times of trouble.  Over the next few posts,  I will share a few of them…and the Bible version in which I learned them.

“What time I am afraid, I will trust in Thee.”  Psalm 56:3 KJV

This verse goes back to my days of a young child — probably around five years old.  As children, we are often afraid of many things:  Darkness, storms, aloneness, “bad people”, bees, losing our parents, piano recitals, and lets not forget the boogie man that hides in the closet!

Time after time, when I was a child and afraid, my parents would remind me to trust in God.  Time after time, they would repeat Psalm 56:3 to me.  Because of this repetition, I found myself repeating this verse to myself regularly.  It calms me.

Many years later, as an adult, I still repeat this verse regularly:  when my husband is out of town, and I hear a “bump in the night”, when my children are out driving and late to arrive home, when I take my dog out late at night to relieve himself, when I am hiking, or when I find myself alone (especially at night) in a not-so-good part of town.  These are just a few examples.  However! Because of this verse, I am less afraid.  I KNOW that God is with me…loves me…and will protect me.

What are some of your “life verses”?

The next one, that frequently follows Psalm 56:3 is Philippians 4:13.  I’ll save my thoughts on that one till next time!

💜💜💜💜💜💜💜💜💜💜💜💜

Until then, please check out my online Avon store!

http://www.youravon.com/ngreer

Need extra money for the holidays?  For just a $25 investment……

http://www.startavon.com.      Code:NGREER

B535708E-7714-419D-9A7A-411763F1EE80

Leave a comment

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close